703 Illinois Ave., Mendota, IL 61342 • Ph: 815-539-9396 • Fax: Fax: 815-539-7862
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Obituaries Social Local Births Home 

MHS honors Illinois State Scholars

Posted: Tuesday, Dec 4th, 2012

Mendota High School students selected as Illinois State Scholars are, front row left to right, Lexi Wamhoff, Michaela DeLong, Brittney Miers, Stephanie McDowell and Kyrsten Zinke; back row, Cody Zinke, Cedric Estrada, Kristen Fagerman, Brady Hughes, Reid Wixom and Michael Happ. (Reporter photo by Bonnie Morris)

MENDOTA - Mendota High School Principal Denise Aughenbaugh has announced that 11 MHS students have been recognized as 2013-14 Illinois State Scholars. The prestigious award is given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission. Illinois State Scholar honorees rank in the top 10 percent of the state's high school seniors from 752 high schools across the state. Selection is based on ACT scores and cumulative grade point average at the end of their junior year.

MHS students named as this year's Illinois State Scholars include Michaela DeLong, daughter of Michael and Janet DeLong of Mendota; Cedric Estrada, son of Martin and Petra Estrada of Mendota; Kristen Fagerman, daughter of Glen and Tami Fagerman of Mendota; Michael Happ, son of Joseph and Karen Happ of Mendota; Brady Hughes, son of Amy Shaddick of Mendota and Dan Hughes of Virden; Stephanie McDowell, daughter of Jim and Teri McDowell of Mendota; Brittney Miers, daughter of Jim and Dawn Miers of Mendota; Lexi Wamhoff, daughter of Penny Wamhoff of LaMoille and Reese Wamhoff of LaMoille; Reid Wixom, son of Mark and Juli Wixom of Mendota; Cody Zinke, son of Scott and Julie Zinke of Mendota; and Kyrsten Zinke, daughter of Jennifer Truckenbrod of Mendota.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal